Wednesday 9th of August

So everyone that I have worked with in the past year, has now either quit or been fired. There is all but 3 of us left, ones on holiday and ones looking at leaving and that’s it, that’s everyone that I started this job with. How sad is that, that a restaurant can’t even keep their staff for a year. The only reason I’m staying is that there is a chance that I can get full-time permanent position and I really want to by a house in the not to distant future, so I need the bank to think that I do have a job that wants me rather than a job that only tolerates me.

I don’t really like where I work but I have had the chance to work with some really amazing people and that is something that I will forever be grateful for. These people have come from all corners of the world and I can’t wait to one day get to go to there home towns and see where they grow up. Most of them are European, so at least I’ll have some idea of where I am and the fact that they’re going to be with me when I’m over there is something that I don’t think anyone would take for granted.

But back to where I’m currently working. I might have said that I did have another job, well I decided that I didn’t want to work there anymore and quit that one. I figured out that I didn’t want to work there on, I think the Sunday and then by the Tuesday I had quit. I didn’t really know how to leave that job as they were kinda relying on me to work there when their head Barista went on holiday but the thing was that it was just assumed that I was going to work there the whole two weeks that he was away but I was also working my current job where they required that I be there almost every day as our head Barista(HB) was also away on holidays. So I decided that I didn’t want to work my second job, didn’t like it at all and I was happier to work at my current job.

Now my current works HB has come back from holiday and decided that she no longer wants to work with us and that it is way to hard and stressful and that she didn’t realise how much she was hating it and how unhappy she was until she went on this holiday and figured out what happy was meant to be. now I have nothing and i do really mean it I don’t think that there is anything wrong with the fact that shes leaving, from when she start to now she has gotten much, unhappier, even though she does smile, you could see it in her face.

She seems a lot happier now that shes left and I hope her the best of luck with the new HB job that shes got.

So it now comes down to the fact, who takes over her position? Everyone that I work with has said that I should do it. Even though it wasn’t my responsibility when she was away, everyone seems to think that I would be able to handle it. I haven’t had any breakdowns in awhile and truth is I think I can do it but to do it I would want to have a permanent full-time position and with the amount of people that are leaving I am thinking that it is a possibility now. I’m not happy that this is the way that I might be able to get the position but in the long run I do need to be looking after myself.

It’s going to be a long and tiring process but its one that I’m going to have to take to find my path onto the next chapter and then from there, well hopefully I’ll get lucky.

“Our culture runs on coffee and gasoline, the first often tasting like the second.” – Edward Abbey

Leave a Reply

