How To… Deal With Loved Ones

The title might sound harsh but I can guarantee it’s nothing like that. It’s just with the ones that we care about they don’t always understand where we’re coming from or they don’t want to admit it. These are things that they have to come to terms with and then help you in which ever way they can.

I found out, somehow or another, that my family suffers from depression, on my dad’s side. And even though I know this it still doesn’t help them relate to me whatsoever.

Families, they love us for who we are and that is always there. It is the unconditional love of family. You might not always like them but somewhere inside you, you will love them. Yes it’s great that they love us and that we’re not alone but the truth is, we still are alone. You don’t just have to love us you have to be able to see that we are trying in the only way we know how, and like I say everyone is different, so we all have different ways of dealing with anxiety. For me that involves me either yelling and admitting everything or me hiding in my room while I try to sort my brain out because for some reason it stops working when I get anxious.

My family, even though they love me and tell me I’m always welcome still don’t understand and the truth is I don’t ever think that they will. It’s not really something that the older generation gets, only because things are so different from when they were teenagers.

Many people with anxiety disorder don’t talk to a doctor about it because they just think of themselves as natural worries. You may assume you were born that way and that there’s nothing a doctor can do about anxiety. Only about half the people with anxiety disorder see a doctor about it.

I’ve been asked to describe what it feels like when I have an anxiety attack. The thing is though, I don’t really know how to explain it. It feels like I can’t breathe and my brain just goes numb and I can’t talk, I can’t even get my brain around to moving sometimes.

There are so many things that can happen when you have an anxiety attack, here is a short list just to name a few fears that people with anxiety have;

  • A heightened fear of what people think of you
  • Afraid of being trapped in a place with no exits
  • Constant feeling of being overwhelmed.
  • Fear of being in public
  • Fear of dying
  • Fear of making mistakes or making a fool of yourself to others
  • Fear that you are losing your mind
  • Fears about irrational things, objects, circumstances, or situations
  • Heightened self-awareness, or self-consciousness

So when you’re trying to tell someone how your feeling and you don’t really know how to, don’t worry, It gets easier, it will take time, god knows that I’m learning that.

Feedback and comments muchly appreciated.

2 thoughts on “How To… Deal With Loved Ones

  1. Or they are abusing you. Are you familiar with narcissism and psychopathy and how they manifest? I spent years misdiagnosed as suffering from depression and anxiety while the cause of my problems was the physical and emotional abuse inflicted by my narcissistic mother.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am familiar with narcissism and psychopathy. My ex was a sociopath. No I don’t think my family is like that but more just the older gen that I was speaking of. I have had a lot of experience with dealing with the older gen (not meaning to some harsh, I work in hospitality, so I do work with the older generation only in a small way but i do see all different sides of them).
      But thank you so your comment, I didn’t even think about those being possibilities, so thank you for that.
      I’m so sorry that you had that happen to you and I hope that you’re getting better for it. I don’t really know much about narcissistic parents.
      Good luck to you ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

